The Ektar Gloss

This is a simple example of when I think the Kodak Ektar 100 makes a good choice of film. I like using this film when the ambient light includes some artificial light but I particularly like it in urban settings with all kinds of light reflection from glass and shiny metal. For flatter less contrasting luminosity, I much prefer the very reliable Kodak Portra.

This picture shows two layers of images, the flat low-contrast scene on top of which luminous Christmas balls seem to be floating. The image would have been better over-exposed by an extra half-stop but since my camera didn’t have a battery and I was guesstimating the EV luminosity, I feel satisfied with the result.

Pentax MX, Vivitar 50/1.7, Kodak Ektar 100, Unedited.

Pentax MX, Vivitar 50/1.7, Kodak Ektar 100. Unedited.

Pentax MX, Vivitar 50/1.7, Kodak Ektar 100. Unedited.